Camping Corse-du-Sud » Campsite near Roccapina

Crystalline interlude at Roccapina

Roccapina is one of the legendary beaches on Corsica’s west and south coasts. Famous for the incredible color of its water, visible from the main road, and for the famous Lion of Roccapina who watches over it, it has remained wild and unspoiled for years.

Roccapina beach is located in the commune of Sartène, in southern Corsica.
Yet it’s very close to the village of Pianottoli Caldarello and Le Damier campsite. The beach is just 15 km from the campsite.
To reach the beach, join the junction of a small carriage road and follow it for 4 kilometers before arriving at organized parking areas. The beach is just a few more meters away.

White sand and turquoise waters, head for the beach

10 km further north of Pianottoli Caldarello, access to Roccapina beach is very easy. A wide carriageway leads to the valley floor and the untamed beach of Roccapina (several free parking lots). It’s a beach with extremely fine white sand and incredible colors. It’s also one of the best places to swim with younger children, as the bottom sinks very slowly.

The beach is very safe, with little swell and no wind, but it is not supervised. Roccapina beach is a large white sandy beach on the west coast of the island. Located in the commune of Sartène, it lies between the Gulf of Propriano, Tizzano beach and the southern beaches, including those of Les Bruzzi in Pianottoli.

Roccapina beach is an atypical beach, quite wide and long, with very little slope. It is fairly closed to the swell and sheltered. This makes it the perfect beach for families with young children, who can safely enjoy swimming in a heavenly setting. The beach is unsupervised.

Behind this dreamy beach, the tall scrubland and shrubs offer a few shady spots to take shelter from the summer sun and really enjoy the day.

Please note, however, that there is no means of finding water and no catering facilities on the beach or in the immediate vicinity. For a full day in Roccapina, you’ll need to bring along a few reserves.

Lion geological formation Roccapina south Corsica

The Lion of Roccapina hike

The Roccapina area is well known for the beauty of its beach, but also for the famous Lion of Roccapina, enthroned on the rocky outcrop overlooking the beach. This is a special geological formation. The granite blocks from southern Corsica suggest the shape of an elongated lion, like a sphinx. This shape, highly recognizable from the roadside and the Roccapina inn, attracts many photographers.

It’s possible to take a short hike to reach the lion. The path starts from the track leading to the beach, almost at the end of it. The climb is fairly steep but short, and sometimes requires a little balance.

On the summit of the rock (the Lion’s Head) are the remains of a Genoese tower. It contributes to the “Lion’s mane” impression. On the rocky outcrop in front is another Genoese tower, much better preserved.

Your campsite near Roccapina beach

Situated less than 25 minutes by car (including track), Le Damier campsite in Pianottoli is very close to Roccapina beach. Choosing a campsite near Roccapina allows you to take full advantage of this extraordinary beach, one of the most beautiful in the region with exceptionally fine sand, and of the quality of the bathing on this wild coast of Corse-du-Sud.

The beach is extremely easy to find. The trail branches off at the Auberge Coralie, on the main road between Sartène and Bonifacio. The most damaged part of this perfectly passable track is the upper section. It then improves to become trouble-free.

ocean south Corsica coast

Family outings

Beware, there’s no way to eat or drink on site, so remember to take everything with you… and bring it back!

Camping Le Damier, near Roccapina, offers all the services you need for your stay. In the heart of protected vegetation, close to the sea and beaches, your campsite just a stone’s throw from Roccapina is a true haven of peace for lovers of authentic Corsican camping holidays.

Camping le Damier is the ideal solution for discovering Roccapina and the most beautiful sites in Corse-du-Sud, such as the villages of Figari, Bonifacio and many others, not forgetting, of course, the heavenly beaches and must-see sites and activities around Panottoli!

Discover other towns near the campsite

Camping Corse-du-Sud » Camping proche de Roccapina

Parenthèse cristalline à Roccapina

Roccapina est une des plages mythiques de la côte ouest et sud de la Corse. Célèbre pour l’incroyable couleur de l’eau visible depuis la route nationale et pour le célèbre Lion de Roccapina qui la surveille, elle n’en reste pas moins sauvage et préservée depuis des années.

La plage de Roccapina est située sur la commune de Sartène, en Corse-du-Sud.
Elle est pourtant très proche du village de Pianottoli Caldarello et du camping le Damier. A peine 15 km séparent la plage du camping.
Pour accéder à la plage, il faut rejoindre l’embranchement d’une petite piste carrossable puis l’emprunter sur 4 kilomètres avant d’arriver à des aires de parking organisées. La plage n’est qu’à quelques mètres plus qu’à quelques mètres.

Sable blanc et eaux turquoise, rendez-vous à la plage

10 km plus au nord de Pianottoli Caldarello, l’accès à la plage de Roccapina est très facile. Une large piste carrossable permet de rejoindre le fond de cette vallée et la plage totalement sauvage de Roccapina (plusieurs parkings gratuits). Il s’agit d’une plage de sable blanc extrêmement fin donnant des couleurs incroyables. C’est aussi l’un des meilleurs endroits pour la baignade avec les plus jeunes enfants, le fond descendant très lentement.

La plage est très sûre, peu de houle et pas de vent, mais elle n’est pas surveillée. La plage de Roccapina est une grande plage de sable blanc située sur la côte ouest de l’île. Située sur la commune de Sartène, elle est en réalité entre le Golfe de Propriano, la plage de Tizzano et les plages du sud dont celles des Bruzzi à Pianottoli.

La plage de Roccapina est une plage atypique, assez large et longue, avec très peu de pente. Elle est assez fermée à la houle et abritée. Il s’agit donc d’une plage parfaite pour les familles avec des jeunes enfants qui peuvent profiter en toute sécurité de la baignade dans un cadre paradisiaque. La plage n’est pas surveillée.

En arrière de cette plage de rêve, le maquis haut et les arbustes proposent quelques lieux d’ombre permettant de s’abriter du soleil d’été, pour profiter réellement toute la journée.

Attention tout de même de noter qu’il n’y a pas de moyen de trouver de l’eau ni de restauration possible sur la plage ni dans les alentours proches. Pour une journée complète à Roccapina, il faut prévoir quelques réserves.

Lion formation geologique Roccapina sud Corse

La randonnée du Lion de Roccapina

La zone de Roccapina est bien sûr connue pour la beauté de la plage mais aussi pour le célèbre Lion de Roccapina qui trône sur l’éperon rocheux surplombant la plage. Il s’agit d’une formation géologique particulière. Les blocs de granit du sud de la Corse suggèrent ici la forme d’un lion allongé, tel un sphinx. Cette forme, très reconnaissable depuis le bord de la route et l’auberge de Roccapina, attire de nombreux photographes.

Il est possible de faire une petite randonnée pour rejoindre le lion. Le chemin part depuis la piste menant à la plage, quasiment à la fin de celle-ci. La montée est assez raide mais courte, et demande parfois un peu d’équilibre.

Sur le sommet du rocher (la tête du Lion) se trouvent les vestiges d’une tour génoise. Elle participe à l’impression de « crinière du Lion ». Sur le piton rocheux devant se trouve une autre tour génoise, bien mieux conservée.

Votre camping à proximité de la plage de Roccapina

Situé à moins de 25 minutes en voiture (piste incluse), le camping Le Damier à Pianottoli est très proche de la plage de Roccapina. Choisir un camping à proximité de Roccapina permet de profiter pleinement de cette plage extraordinaire, l’une des plus belles de la région avec un sable d’une finesse exceptionnelle, et de la qualité de la baignade sur cette côte sauvage de la Corse-du-Sud.

La plage est extrêmement facile à trouver. L’embranchement de la piste se fait au niveau de l’Auberge Coralie, sur la route nationale entre Sartène et Bonifacio. La partie la plus dégradée de cette piste tout à fait carrossable est la partie haute. Elle s’améliore ensuite pour ne présenter aucune difficulté.

ocean cote sud Corse

À découvrir en famille

Attention, sur place, aucun moyen de se restaurer ni de s’hydrater, pensez à tout emmener… et ramener !

Le Camping Le Damier, proche de Roccapina, propose toutes les prestations adaptées à votre séjour. Au cœur d’une végétation protégée, proche de la mer et des plages, votre camping à deux pas de Roccapina est un véritable havre de paix pour amateurs de séjours authentiques en camping en Corse.

Le camping le Damier est la meilleure solution pour découvrir Roccapina et les plus beaux sites de Corse-du-Sud, comme les villages de Figari, de Bonifacio et bien d’autres, sans oublier, bien sûr, les plages paradisiaques ainsi que les sites et activités incontournables autour de Panottoli !

Découvrez les autres villes près du camping